Contact Us

All correspondence should be submitted to the following address. Please read our guidance on making a referral before sending patient referrals or samples for testing.

Postal Address

Genomic Diagnostics Laboratory
The Manchester Centre for Genomic Medicine
St Mary’s Hospital
Oxford Road
Manchester
M13 9WL

For laboratory enquiries please use the appropriate number below. The fax numbers shown are secure and may be used to send confidential information such as consent forms but please advise the laboratory in question by telephone before sending such material by fax.

Telephone Secure Fax
Cytogenetic testing 0161 276 6553 0161 276 6238
Molecular Genetic testing 0161 276 6122 0161 276 6606
The Willink Metabolic Unit 0161 701 8612
Laboratory Opening Hours

Alternatively, if you are unsure of the laboratory you require, please call our main reception number: 0161 276 6506.

Our laboratories are open from 9.00am to 5.00pm, Monday to Friday.

All laboratories are closed on official UK public holidays.

Out-of-Hours Service

An out-of-hours service is provided by The Willink Metabolic Unit. Urgent investigations will only be performed following discussion with one of our consultants, who may be contacted via the hospital switchboard on 0161 276 1234.

Principal contact list
Principal Contact Email Telephone
Laboratory Director Lorraine Gaunt Lorraine.Gaunt@mft.nhs.uk 0161 276 3269
Cytogenetics Heather Ward Heather.Ward@mft.nhs.uk 0161 276 6265
Molecular Pathology Helene Schlecht Helene.Schlecht@mft.nhs.uk 0161 276 3265
Inherited Cancer Genetics Andrew Wallace Andrew.Wallace@mft.nhs.uk 0161 701 4919
Ophthalmic Genetics Simon Ramsden Simon.Ramsden@mft.nhs.uk 0161 276 6265
Cardiac Genetics James Eden James.Eden@mft.nhs.uk 0161 701 4920
Rare Disease & Exomes David Gokhale David.Gokhale@mft.nhs.uk 0161 276 6684
Specialised Cell Culture Service Josie Innes Josie.Innes@mft.nhs.uk 0161 276 6771
Metabolic Genetics Lesley Heptinstall Lesley.Heptinstall@mft.nhs.uk 0161 701 4920
Bioinformatics Sanjeev Bhaskar Sanjeev.Bhaskar@mft.nhs.uk 0161 276 8703
The Willink Metabolic Unit Mick Henderson Mick.Henderson@nhs.net 0161 701 2137
Quality Manager Andrea Naughton Andrea.Naughton@mft.nhs.uk 0161 701 0443